from the Greater Hilltop CDC
GHCDC 2001 News
The National Road,
U.S. Route 40 (West Broad Street through the Hilltop) literally carried the United States west in this young
country’s quest for opportunity and expansion.
Efforts are now underway to seek National Scenic Byway Status and
its benefits for this unique road that has played such an important role
in the Hilltop’s history.
National Road was the first, federally planned and funded infrastructure
project. Through an act of
Congress passed in 1806 and signed by Thomas Jefferson, it created the
first “interstate highway” in the country.
It was intended to connect the great port of Baltimore with the
Mississippi River in St. Louis. The
$7,000,000 project originated in Cumberland, Maryland and stretched 591
miles through Pennsylvania, West Virginia, Ohio, and Indiana, ending in
Vandalia, Illinois. In
doing so, it opened up the Old Northwest Territories to trade with the
growing towns and cities of the Eastern United States.
of the road came to Columbus in the 1830’s closely following 40
degrees latitude, hence the designation as Route 40.
It entered the city on East Main Street but then turned north
along High Street to West Broad Street which it followed across the
Scioto River through Franklinton then up to Sullivant‘s Hill.
As the road was completed through the Hilltop, the large tracts
of the Sullivant Brothers property were divided and sold, and farm
houses began to appear on the National Road along with the inns that
served the travelers and drovers who used the road.
During the Civil War it brought suppliers, soldiers, and
prisoners of war to Camp
Chase. It also
provided the location for the first school on the Hilltop, established
for the children of the officers serving at the camp.
Shortly after the end of the war, the development of the large
State Facilities on either side of the road created new jobs and
increased demands for goods and services.
By the time streetcars began running out from the city, along
West Broad Street, it was
no longer just up to Sullivant’s Hill, but into the Hilltop community
that had formed around it.
Although its role was briefly overshadowed by the railroads, the
importance of the National Road entered a new era of dominance with the
turn of the century that ushered in the development of the automobile.
It became the “Main Street” of the country, a defining
element of American life until the 1960’s.
National Scenic Byway program was created under the 1991 Intermodal
Surface Transportation Efficiency Act (ISTEA) and was continued as part
of the 1998 Transportation Equity Act for the 21st. Century (TEA21).
The Federal Highway Administration operated the program through
its state coordinators, who are usually located within a State’s
Department of Transportation or Tourism Agency.
Today, 37 states have scenic byway program.
The National Scenic Byway Program has designated 15 All-American
Roads and 57 National Scenic Byways.
Scenic Byway Designation offers the follow:
interest in an area’s cultural and historic resources and natural
opportunities to interpret the intrinsic qualities of the area
visitors who bring additional revenue and economic activity to an area
compatible and place-sensitive development
to less-traveled roads
partnerships within and between communities sharing a common vision
Opening doors to
financial and technical assistance
In 1996, as an initial step toward designation, the Ohio Historic
Preservation Office contracted for an initial survey of the historic
road. As a result of the
survey and community meetings a decision was made to proceed with the
application process: advisory
groups were formed and funds were secured to hire a firm to coordinate
the application activities.
On Thursday, April 19th from 7:30 to 9:00 PM. There
will be a public, Regional Meeting for Central Ohio at Hoge
Memorial Presbyterian Church, 2930 West Broad Street to present a
progress report on developing a plan for preserving the old National
Road and completing the application for National Scenic Byway status.
The public is encouraged to attend!
Please be sure to check the mailing label on the envelope from
this newsletter and the community calendar.
The label shows how your organization is listed in the directory.
It also indicates who we have listed as a contact person.
If there are any changes or corrections please call the GHCDC at
The 13th Annual Reunion of the 1913 Flood Survivors, sponsored by
the Hilltop Historical Society will
be held on Sunday, March 25, 2001, at
3 PM in Hoge Memorial Church, 2930 West Broad Street.
In 1988 the Society decided to honor those area
residents who suffered through the
Flood . The event
has become an annual affair, and the stories told by the survivors are
moving and thrilling. Congresswoman
Deborah Pryce who has worked to secure final funding for the floodwall
has been invited to attend. The
meeting is open to the public and refreshment will be served.
The connection between the boardwalk of the Sullivant Trace
multi-purpose trail and the asphalt State Offices walking trail has been
completed. You can now walk
from Glenview Park (the eastern portion of Holton Park)
to the state’s retention pond trail in the Dry Run Creek
Valley, up over the hill just north of the state offices and then down
into Rhodes Park and along the old “Shady Lane” to W. Broad Street.
With only the asphalt section between Eureka Ave. and the boardwalk to
be completed plans are being made to hold a special dedication some time
in May. In preparation for the dedication a clean-up has been planned
for Saturday, April 21, 2001 from 9:00 AM to noon.
Volunteers are asked to meet at the beginning of the boardwalk at
the eastern end of the park. Trash
bags will be provide by Keep Columbus Beautiful Program.
Volunteers of all ages are welcome to come to help
clean up and to learn a little history of the area. This would make an ideal project for a young person’s
community service hours requirements. For more information call the
GHCDC at 276-006.
The Greater Hilltop Community Theater will present the
children’s production “The Storytellers” on Friday, March 30 at 7
PM and Saturday, March 31 at 2 PM and again at 7 PM in the evening.
The production will be staged at Wedgewood Middle School, 3771
Eakin Rd. Tickets are $3 per person, with reserved seating available.
For information or reservations call 470-1400 and leave a
“Storytellers” includes four pieces: “The
Princess and the Pea”, “The Elves and the Shoemaker”, “The
Nightingale”, and “The Giant and the Three Golden Hairs”. Over 40
young people, ages 9-20, from
the community are cast in the production being directed by area resident
If you have any old photos that could be copied or have
some memories to share or would like to work on this project contact the